SpreadLift

SpreadLift vs Hevy, Strong, Boostcamp, Liftosaur and Crucible

SpreadLift does one thing: it runs the lifting spreadsheet you already use, on your phone, in any browser. It keeps the sheet's own percentage and training-max maths, and it gets kg and IPF plates exactly right.

Other apps do other things better. This page tries to show both. Every competitor fact links to that company's own site or app-store listing and was checked on 19 October 2026. Prices change and vary by country, so check the linked page before you buy. Where we couldn't confirm something, we say so instead of guessing.

At a glance

SpreadLiftHevyStrongBoostcampLiftosaurCrucible
Runs your own spreadsheet programYes: import your sheet (free).No program-sheet import found; imports Strong history CSV ¹No import foundNo sheet import found; rebuild it in their builder ²No sheet import; you rewrite it in their Liftoscript text language ³Yes: .xlsx/.xls/.csv import, a Pro feature ⁴
Keeps %/training-max mathsKeeps the sheet's own mathsNot for working sets; %-based warm-ups only ⁵Not found in official docs% of 1RM in custom programs ²% of 1RM and scriptable TM ⁶Not stated on their site
Plate calculatorFree Plate Calculator (kg & lb); kg and IPF plates exactly right. 2.5 kg collars on/off (off by default); 20 kg, 15 kg or custom bar.Free, kg/lb, custom plates and bars ⁷PRO only, kg/lb ⁸10 free uses, then Pro ⁹Premium; your own plates and bar ¹⁰"Knows the plates you own", lb or kg ⁴
Offline useOffline listed for the watch apps ²²Not stated in official docsOffline once a program is loaded ¹²Yes, including the web app ¹³"Works fully offline" ⁴
Data exportCSV ²¹CSV ¹¹No official export foundJSON, CSV, text ³CSV ⁴
PlatformsAny phone browser (PWA)iOS, Android, Apple Watch, Wear OS, web ¹iPhone, Android, Apple Watch ¹¹iOS, Android (builder also on web) ¹²iOS, Android, web app, Apple Watch ¹³iPhone; Android "next" ⁴
Account to startNot neededAccount-based; whether it's optional not confirmedRequired ¹⁴Required ¹⁵Optional ¹³Not required ⁴
Paid plans (USD)$4.99/mo, $29/yr, $49 lifetime$2.99/mo, $23.99/yr, $74.99 lifetime (US App Store) ¹⁶$4.99/mo, $29.99/yr (US App Store) ¹⁷$14.99/mo, $59.99/yr ¹⁸$4.99/mo, $39.99/yr, $99.99 lifetime (US App Store) ¹⁹$4.99/mo, $29.99/yr, $79.99 lifetime ⁴
Free forever4 calculators (Plate, Warm-up, RPE & e1RM, DOTS), import, first 2 weeks of any programLogging; 4 routines, 3 months of history ²⁰Unlimited workouts, 3 routines ¹⁷14,000+ programs, tracker, builder ⁹Programs, logging, import/export ¹⁰Logging, 2 active programs, 8 weeks of history ⁴

Where each one beats SpreadLift

Hevy. Choose Hevy if you want a social feed: following friends, liking and commenting on workouts, and copying routines. It also has dedicated Apple Watch and Wear OS apps, a web app, exercise videos, charts, a free plate calculator, and integrations with Strava, Apple Health and Health Connect. It doesn't run percentage-based working sets from a training max. You type the weights in yourself. (hevyapp.com, compare page)

Strong. It has a clean, fast logger, a full Apple Watch app, charts, a warm-up calculator, Apple Health and CSV export. It suits you if you log freely rather than follow a spreadsheet. The plate calculator needs Strong PRO, and you need an account to start. (strong.app, help: account)

Boostcamp. It has a huge program library (14,000+ programs, 130+ designed by coaches), a community feed, and analytics and auto-progression in Pro. It also works offline once a program is loaded. If you don't have a program yet, Boostcamp is a better place to find one than SpreadLift is. (boostcamp.app/features)

Liftosaur. You write and automate your own progression logic in a scripting language. It has many built-in programs, a desktop editor, an Apple Watch app, an API and an MCP server, and it works offline without an account. It also exports to JSON, CSV and text. It's the most flexible option if you're happy to rewrite your program as code. (liftosaur.com, import/export)

Crucible. It's the closest to SpreadLift in spirit. It imports .xlsx/.csv programs, with a review screen before anything is saved, as part of Pro. It also has a native iPhone app, a conditioning engine (Tabata, EMOM, intervals), calendar scheduling and coach tools, and it works offline without an account. Its site says it reads days, exercises, sets, rep ranges, RPE and rest. It doesn't say whether it keeps a sheet's own percentage formulas. Its site also says both "coming soon" and "live" for the App Store, so check availability yourself. (trycrucible.app)

There's also a different product called "The Crucible" (thecruciblefitnesstracker.com), a workout-plus-nutrition web app. It isn't the one compared here.

Where SpreadLift fits

  • Your sheet stays your sheet. SpreadLift keeps the spreadsheet's own %/training-max maths, so the numbers you see are the ones the author wrote. Nothing gets rebuilt by hand.
  • Plates done right in kg. It gets kg and IPF plates exactly right.
  • Nothing to install. It works in any phone browser, and you don't need an account to start.
  • Free to try properly. These are free forever: importing your sheet, the first 2 weeks of any program, and 4 calculators. The calculators are the Plate Calculator (kg & lb), Warm-up Calculator, RPE & e1RM Calculator and DOTS Calculator (IPF points).
  • Familiar sheet layouts.

SpreadLift is not affiliated with or endorsed by the creators of nSuns or GZCL; names used descriptively.

If you want a social feed, a watch app or a big program library, one of the apps above will probably suit you better, and that's fine.

Check your numbers and train safely

Whatever app you use, check the weights it gives you against your sheet before a heavy session. Load the bar carefully and use safeties or spotters.


All competitor details were checked on 19 October 2026 from the linked official pages. Prices shown are the listed USD prices (US App Store where noted) and may differ in your country. Spotted something out of date? Tell us at hello@spreadlift.com and we'll fix it.